Day 15-the sheds and a farewell party - Reisverslag uit Glenhurd, Zuid-Afrika van Fleur van der Ven - WaarBenJij.nu Day 15-the sheds and a farewell party - Reisverslag uit Glenhurd, Zuid-Afrika van Fleur van der Ven - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 15-the sheds and a farewell party

Door: Fleur van der Ven

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Fleur

01 Mei 2014 | Zuid-Afrika, Glenhurd

Today was a very special, interesting and confronting day.
At 10.00 'o clock we met Simpiwi at the boys house, from there he took us on a walk through the poorest part of Motherwell. The people here call them 'the sheds'. On our walk a saw a lot, it is really difficult to find words for this. Out of corrugated sheets and wood houses, churches, schools and even pubs are build. When we came into the township, the news that there were white people in there area spread quickly. A lot of people came out of their houses to show us their house, if you can even call it a house. What I find very inspiring is that all people, living in such poor conditions, are still very proud of the small things they own.
People make something out of nothing. That is what inspired me the most.
Maybe the best example of this were the children playing on the 'playground'. In between two electricity poles they hung up old clothes and towels, they could swing and climb between those poles, it was impressive to see how much fun they could have!
When I was walking there I was thinking how I could help this very poor people, but the problem is so big that I just don't know where to start.
All those poorness made me realise what kind of live i'm living. That was the most confronting part of the day. I realised how spoiled I am.

After this heavy but very nice morning we went to Louise's place for a farewell party. All the children of Thamsanqa came over, this was a big happening!! They rented two big buses to take all the children!
Every house practised something that they could show to us! It was amazing to see!! All those girls can sing and dance very well, I wish I could do that! It was very nice to see how everyone participated in something and how all the children involve each other in their performances. When one starts singing, everyone starts singing, it doesn't matter if you are 22 or 4, everyone sings along.
What was a pity is that this was the last time we saw those kids. I love them so much and I've only known them for 2 weeks now! I hope one day I can come back and see how much all the children have grown!

Tomorrow we have a relaxing day!

Greetings from South-Africa

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Fleur

Actief sinds 15 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 277
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12972

Voorgaande reizen:

17 April 2014 - 05 Mei 2014

Zuid-Afrika, Porth Elizabeth

Landen bezocht: